Oct 23, 2018

Solium Fatalis (2018) Genetically Engineered to Enslave 'Review'

Band: Solium Fatalis
Country of Origin: United States
Genre: Death Metal
Type: Full Length
Format: Digital 320 kbps
Length Approx.: 41:00 min.
Release Date10-13-2018
Release Label: Wicked Music Records 

IR Classification: Moderate (3.0 / 5)

Listen our review! (English)
© Insanity Remains Webzine.


An album appealing for the followers of melodic death and groove metal.

Solium Fatalis brought us their fourth album so far and I have to be honest, I have never heard of them before, but according to Metallum website, they are described as a Death metal band from New Hampshire; their songwriting skills are tight enough from the beginning, "Threshold" assaults us with tremendous fierce drum rolls incorporating rapidly alongside the powerful guitars with such aggressiveness, enough to take our whole attention. "Lake of Extinction" keeps the merciless pounding, the guitar riff is just sharp as a razor blade, very effectively does it carry the impetus beyond your expectations, it's followed by the precious "Servile," the technical skills abound here and are displayed to its maximum level with stunning breakdowns and a superb prowess vocal.

However, every album has a second face and "Factor Red" with its stomping pace dilutes most of the effort Solium Fatalis delivered during the first half and if it was not enough. "Dysmorphic" locks down any hope following the same recipe as the previous track, "Chemical Reagent" has some good ideas but the dissonant guitars sound out of place. the closing track "A Tongue to Taste the Collapse" sounds heavy and compact the guitar riff comes with more sense, the guitar solo is excellent and no need to say about the terrific drum work, while the vocals recapture its personality.

To summarize, the quartet of Solium Fatalis integrated by bassist and vocalist Jeff DeMarco, drummer Jeff Saltzman and the guitarists Jim Gregory and Ryan Beevers, were able to bring us a very variated album. Some tracks are good enough with some bright ideas, others are just flat and without inspiration or lack of ideas, only thing I can add to their favor is when they hit the right key, they do it with their own brand, very technical and powerful, spicing it up with some intense melodies and unforgettable growls; Please, don't let them pass unnoticed.

Stay True… Stay Metal… Stay Brutal…

Track List:

01. Threshold │ 02. Lake of Extinction │ 03. Servile │ 04. Synthhon │ 05. A Gathering of Storms │ 06. Factor Red │ 07. Dysmorphic │ 08. Chemical Reagent │ 09. Fiery the Angels Fell │ 10. A Tongue to Taste the Collapse

Share us!

All rights reserved © Insanity Remains Webzine.

No comments:

Post a Comment