May 2, 2016

Rotten Sound (2016) Abuse to Suffer

Band: Rotten Sound
Country of Origin: Finland
Genre: Grindcore
Type: Full Length
Format: CD Digipak
Length Approx.: 32:00 min.
Release Date03-18-2016
Release Label: Season of Mist

IR Classification: Good (4.0 / 5)

Listen our review! (English)

Remorseless and aggressive grindcore

After twenty-three years in the scene Rotten Sound doesn't show any sign of weakness, not even because they always has been playing one of the most confined and limited genres in the underground scene, the grindcore for some, is an endless chaotic mass of riffs, murky bass tunes and battering drums and you know what? Unequivocally, I think that is the best definitions everybody can conclude, every twist and tweaks depend on each band's approach to keep fresh, corrosive and true to its roots.

These Finnish have returned after five years and brings under their arm the seventh album in their career, which they have entitled "Abuse to Suffer" which is slightly over thirty-two minutes of their remorseless and aggressive grindcore as only they know how to do, incredible production, abrupt and heavy riffs, intense blast beats, abrasive bass and guttural vocals are few of the attributes I can attach to this grindcore devotees.

Rotten Sound unfolds their wrath from the beginning with the first theme "Lazy Asses" a blend of cathartic and disharmonic riffs, "Fear of Shadows" throws some groovy riffs at mid pace, while "Time for the Fix" with its infectious riff extends the groovy feeling to create a complex, yet chaotic counterbalance after half way to the end, "Brainwashed" with its distorted hardcore-punk influenced, knock down any conventional structure implied, "Yellow Pain" brings a nauseating sludge pace with under tune riffing, "The Clerk" it's a straight assault that refuses to veer from their hardened formula, "Retaliation" it's a fast and furious onslaught with buzzing guitars and brutal drum pattern, "Extortion and Blackmail" rapidly engage the listener with unmatched violence, but suddenly turns into a massive groove that thrives into a noisy scheme, followed by "Equal Rights" It has a very consistent rhythm section alike the Scandinavian death metal bands, crushing blast beats and shattering vocals, leads to the last track "Someone Weak" sonically slows down with heavier guitar riffs, bone crushing drums and powerful growl vocals.

 "Abuse To Suffer" it’s a clear statement of what grindcore is about, many of their hard die fans will agree with me, despite the lack of innovation Rotten Sound offers a solid album, varied in content and able to break necks; Do not hesitate if you like bands like Nasum, Napalm Death or Gadget then do not waste your time.

Stay True… Stay Metal… Stay Brutal...

Track List:

01. Lazy Asses
02. Intellect
03. Fear of Shadows 
04. Trashmonger
05. Crooked
06. Time for the Fix 
07. Slave to the Rats 
08. Brainwashed
09. Cannon Fodder
10. Yellow Pain
11. Machine
12. The Clerk
13. Caged
14. Retaliation
15. Inhumane Treatment
16. Extortion and Blackmail
17. Equal Rights
18. Someone Weak

Season of Mist

All rights reserved © Insanity Remains Webzine.

No comments:

Post a Comment